Year of the River 2019: A Tour Along the Ouachita
May 11 @ 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm$65
It was 200 years ago this spring when the billowing smokestacks and whistles of steamboats first made their way up the Ouachita River. The residents of Fort Miro were so excited about the economic prosperity this new transportation would bring to northeast Louisiana, they threw a party and renamed the town after the steamboat “James Monroe.”
We will celebrate this connection to the river on Saturday, May 11 with a tour of historic sites along the east bank of the Ouachita. Beginning with the Cooley House and Layton Castle at 2:00 p.m. From there, we’ll caravan to Caldwell Parish, to visit Synope Plantation, the Graves Plantation, Martin House, Our Lady of Peace Meditation Chapel and the Shepis Museum in Columbia. There will be refreshments at stops along the way. Registration also includes admission to Blend of the River Festival in Columbia. Proceeds benefit the restoration of the 1928 Cooley House, a rare Prairie style masterpiece of the South.
Sites on tour:
Registration includes tour sites, guidebook & admission to Blend of the River festival! Proceeds from the tour benefit the Cooley House restoration and the Schepis Museum.
Tickets may be purchased from the Northeast Louisiana Arts Council office at 2305 N 7th St, West Monroe – phone: 318.397.6717. Deadline for online registration is Friday, May 10. Tickets may be purchased the day of the tour at the Cooley House.
The tour will occur, rain or shine. If you register and are not able to attend, please consider a donation to Cooley House Foundation and Schepis Museum. Please consider there are no service stations between Monroe and Columbia (30 miles). These historic homes are not fully ADA compliant. Good walking shoes are necessary. There are stairs without rails and unpaved walkways. Those with motor problems are welcome if accompanied by an able companion.